DEFILED

The Lord said to me in the days of King Josiah:”Have you seen what she did, that faithless one, Israel, how she went up on every high hill and under every green tree, and there played the whore? And I thought, ‘After she has done all this she will return to me,’ but she did not return, and her treacherous sister Judah saw it.. Jeremiah 3:6, 7(ESV)

When I read this text what came into my mind is how defiled we actually are but not even giving a second thought to our spiritual state. Just as the God told Israel; they had not even thought of coming back. But even more despicable of all acts of Israel which is compared to whoredom is clearly elaborated as what I would call been everywhere with every ‘Dick, Tom and Harry’ as commonly said. Can you imagine that being a description of Israel a nation of God’s promise? A people who are the living promise?

You can even stretch your imagination to include Christians the Israel of today having this condition! Worse yet, imagine this to mean you and me being the whores going with everyone and sleeping everywhere easily seduced by anything, anyone who comes around! Absolutely disgusting to think of this. I thought no way this description could be used on me!

However unfortunately, this is so very so applicable to me vividly and I believe it is applicable to you as well. How you may ask; yes how often have you repeatedly sinned and felt sorry for your sins and cried t God to cleanse you and forgive you and pledged not to go that path again? Then what happened.. Arrgh did it again. How often do we pray for forgiveness why is it we keep sinning? When can this stop? If you are asking yourself these questions then you have been well described in the text for today.

Te text does not end with bad news it has god news and I thank God for that tone from God’s own words! ‘And I thought, ‘After she has done all this she will return to me.’ Yes that is what God is saying; after you have messed yourself up is still wondering if you would decide to return to Him. He has not given up on you and me. There is no mess too messy for Him. You can decide to return to God. “Mistakes are always forgivable, if one has the courage to admit them” – Bruce Lee

The parable of the lost son in Luke 15:11-24 is the story of any sinner waiting to happen. On this parable E. G. White had this to say: “We thank the Lord, we rejoice, that it is not too late for wanderers to return, with humble confession, and receive a welcome in the Father’s house,–to be clothed with the righteousness of Christ. I thank God for this with a full heart every day.” And else where in the bible God says “”If you return, I will restore you, and you shall stand before me..” Jeremiah 15:19

Sure deal!

By A. Eliamani

Leave a Comment

